Secondhand bookshops and online finds

Posted: June 12, 2014 in Random
Tags: ,

I am one of those people who find it very hard to walk past a charity shop and not have a quick look to see what books might be hidden away inside. With a young son who needs his fresh air, my wife and I now have a daily early morning walk come rain or shine. I have also, during those necessary ‘he needs to sleep’ moments, devised a route that takes me past a few of my favourite secondhand book shops whilst hoping that my boy will be lulled into a nap. Cunning, I know. But also very straining on the already loaded bookshelves in the house.

However, of late, I haven’t been able to find much that’s peaked my interest. Sure, there’s piles of Fifty Shades of Grey but not much in the way of the kind of hidden gems I used to so regularly find. Though I did mange to pick up two interesting looking zombie novels on my recent travels. Firstly, Outpost by Adam Baker and, secondly, Monster Island by David Wellington. I know, I know, I have a zombie problem lately…

Bemoaning the change in the charity shop’s inventory is pointless though. Instead I took the chance to go hunting on the internet for a few titles I’ve been eager to read. Today the mad and muttering postie delivered, with a rousing chorus of expletives and quite probably a swift kick to the letter box, Armor by John Steakley.

I’ve heard so many good things about this book that I dived straight in and I’m enjoying it so far. Very different from my last read and I’ll get a review up soon. In the meantime, check out the blurb below.

20140612-195737-71857539.jpg

The planet is called Banshee. The air is unbreathable, the water poisonous. It is the home of the most implacable enemies that humanity, in all its interstellar expansion, has ever encountered.

Felix is a scout in A-team Two. Highly competent, he is the sole survivor of mission after mission. Yet he is a man consumed by fear and hatred. And he is protected not only by his custom-fitted body armor, the culmination of ten thousand years of the armorers’ craft, but also by an odd being which seems to live with him, a cold killing machine he calls “the Engine.”

This best-selling science-fiction classic is a story of the horror, the courage, and the aftermath of combat and also of how strength of spirit can be the greatest armor of all.

Either way, whether it’s a stumbled upon jewel amidst the piles of Jeffery Archer in your local charity shop or a tracked down novel you’ve been wanting to read for a while found on the interweaves, secondhand bookshops are a godsend.

Leave a Reply

